Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Canning/Freezing Salsa Mix questions. Options
alaughlin82
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 25, 2009 10:05:26 PM

Groups: Member

I'm completely new to canning in general. My grandma has told me that when I am making salsa that I only need to follow the recipe, cook it down as in the recipe, heat the rings and jars then pour the salsa in the jars and seal them up. I did this with the first 11 quarts but after reading am concerned being that I did not do the hot water bath. Is what she is telling me an old way of doing this? Do I need to freeze this so it doesn't go bad? All of the seals sealed up fine within an hour of doing this. Any advice would be appreciated.

Adam
DellaDonna
#2 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2009 11:24:33 AM

Hey Adam....Don't panic!!!! I've been canning for years and years and I've never used a hot water bath to preserve. Just as long as you've made sure to boil your jars and seals[I run mine through the dishwasher] you shouldn't have any problems. You can tell if your lids haven't sealed because they will move up and down when you push on them, you can also hear the vacumn when you open up a jar so you know they've been sealed. Then store them in a cool dry spot. Happy Canning
alaughlin82
#3 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2009 2:14:07 PM

Thanks so much for your reply! I ended up getting 25 quarts and they all sealed. Thanks so much for your help. :)
JudyLou
#4 Posted : Friday, September 04, 2009 11:17:15 PM

I'm sorry to have to disagree with the previous answer but all home canned foods must be processed in some fashion to be safe for storage, either in a boiling water bath or pressure canner, and failure to do so is very hazardous. Hot seal canning of jars such as described above was proven dangerous as long ago as 1974.